The installation Monoliths by Malte Kebbel consists of original segments of the Berlin Wall, those constitute a non-limited, luminous and reflective place, which instead of its original linear-separating purpose now creates a space of luminous effect for gathering and contemplation.

An unlimited but still open place of thought reflection and meeting is created by light, luminescence, light reflections and monolithic concrete masses. The installation “Monoliths” opens up a luminous space of positive energy, which at the same time deals with the contradictory demarcation of real areas and theoretically boundless thoughts. Four original Berlin wall segments are coated with a luminescent and colored reflective epoxy resin as a flat 3D relief print. They are arranged in the constellation to an elementary stone circle. A programmed lightshow illuminates the light-sensitive installation by ultraviolet light and atmospheric blue light.

During the division of Germany, the Berlin Wall was a hermetic sealing system of the “German Democratic Republic” (DDR), which existed for more than 28 years, from 13 August 1961 to 9 November 1989.

Our approach is to define a place of gathering and contemplation instead of its original (linear) separation purpose.

MONOLITHS
3D stencil printing, luminescent & reflective epoxy resin on original Berlin wall segment & light installation; per object: 120 x 220 x 360cm, 2,8 tons; Installation:
800 x 800 x 360cm, 11,2 tons

Malte Kebbel

Malte Kebbel is a German artist and designer, living in Berlin. His work includes a passionate use of colors and form. He has exhibited globally in several solo and group exhibitions in locations such as Berlin, Miami, New York, Mexico City, Bologna, Istanbul and Dublin. 2016 he took part in Berlin Leuchtet, one of the biggest light festivals in the world and where he first presented his luminescent ‘Fin Sin Fin’ project. He also recently received a German Design Award 2017 – Special Mention for his website.

maltekebbel.de
Malte Kebbel on Wikipedia

No Borders World Tour

Team

Malte Kebbel

Malte Kebbel is a German artist and designer. He creates and realizes the installation "Monoliths".

Malte Kebbel

Malte Kebbel is a German artist and designer. He creates and realizes the installation "Monoliths".

maltekebbel.de

Kai Rixrath

Kai Rixrath, owner of McParking. He has the place and the original Berlin Wall segments.

Mc Parking

Kai Rixrath, owner of McParking. McParking is a car park provider in Berlin-Tegel, Berlin-Schönefeld and Leipzig. Since its inception in 2004, McParking has provided a secure and affordable alternative to parking at the airport.

mcparking.de

Reinhard Geiger

Reinhard Geiger, Architect. He is the information center and the logistics expert.

Reinhard Geiger Architekten

Reinhard Geiger Architekten is a team of architects, landscape architects, energy consultants and civil engineers.

rgeiger-architekten.de

Contact

 

 

Social Media

Partner

Die Installation Monoliths von Malte Kebbel bildet aus originalen Segmenten der Berliner Mauer einen tendenziell unbegrenzten, leuchtenden und reflektierenden Ort, der anstelle ihres ursprünglich linear- trennenden Zwecks nun einen Raum lumineszierender Wirkung für Versammlung und Kontemplation schafft.

Ein unbegrenzer und dennoch offener Ort der gedanklichen Reflexion und Zusammenkunft wird durch Licht, Lumineszenz, Lichtreflexionen und monolithische Betonmassen geschaffen. Die Installation „Monoliths“ eröffnet einen leuchtenden Raum der positiven Energie, der sich gleichzeitig mit der widersinnigen Abgrenzung realer Gebiete und theoretisch grenzenloser Gedankenräume beschäftigt. Vier originale Berliner Mauer – Segmente sind mit lumineszierendem und farbig reflektierendem Epoxidharz als ebenem 3D-Reliefdruck beschichtet. Sie werden in der Konstellation zu einem elementaren Steinkreis angeordnet. Eine programmierte Lichtshow lässt die lichtempfindliche Installation dabei durch ultraviolettes Licht und atmosphärisches Blaulicht illuminieren.

Die Berliner Mauer war während der Teilung Deutschlands ein hermetisch abriegelndes Grenzbefestigungssystem der „Deutschen Demokratischen Republik“ (GDR), das mehr als 28 Jahre, vom 13. August 1961 bis zum 9. November 1989, bestand.

Unser Ansatz ist es anstelle ihres ursprünglich (linear) trennenden Zwecks nun einen Ort der Versammlung und Kontemplation zu definieren.

MONOLITHS
3D Schablonendruck, lumineszierendes & reflektierendes Epoxidharz auf original Berliner Mauer – Segment & Lichtinstallation; je Objekt: 120 x 220 x 360 cm, 2,8 Tonnen; Installation: 800 x 800 x 360cm, 11,2 Tonnen

Malte Kebbel

Malte Kebbel ist ein deutscher Künstler und Designer, der in Berlin lebt. Seine Arbeit zeichnet sich durch eine intensive Wirkung von Form und Farbe aus. Er hat weltweit in mehreren Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen u.a. in Berlin, Miami, New York, Mexiko City, Bologna, Istanbul und Dublin ausgestellt. 2016 nahm er an Berlin Leuchtet teil, einem der größten Lichtfestivals der Welt, wo er zum ersten Mal sein luminiszierendes „Fin Sin Fin“ -Projekt vorstellte. Er erhielt vor kurzem die German Design Award 2017 – Special Mention für seine Website.

maltekebbel.de
Malte Kebbel auf Wikipedia

Keine Grenzen Welt Tournee

Team

Malte Kebbel

Malte Kebbel ist ein deutscher Künstler und Designer. Er konzipiert und realisiert die Installation "Monoliths".

Malte Kebbel

Malte Kebbel ist ein deutscher Künstler und Designer. Er konzipiert und realisiert die Installation "Monoliths".

maltekebbel.de

Kai Rixrath

Kai Rixrath, Inhaber von McParking. Er hat den Platz und die originalen Berliner Mauer Segmente.

Mc Parking

Kai Rixrath, Inhaber von McParking. McParking ist ein Parkplatzanbieter in Berlin-Tegel, Berlin-Schönefeld und Leipzig. Seit der Gründung des Unternehmens im Jahre 2004 ermöglicht McParking eine sichere und preisgünstige Alternative zum Parken direkt am Flughafen.

mcparking.de

Reinhard Geiger

Reinhard Geiger, Architekt. Er ist das Informationszentrum und der Logistik Experte.

Reinhard Geiger Architekten

Reinhard Geiger Architekten ist ein Team von Architekten, Landschafts-architekten, Energieberatern und Bauingenieuren.

rgeiger-architekten.de

Kontakt

 

 

Social Media

Partner